Cats

I like to say I woke up at dawn
but in reality, I stayed up all night long
reading some stories on my phone
making minimal noise because I’m not the only one who is home
cats broke into the trash can
scattered moldy food all over the deck again
they’re not like the ones we keep as friends
hide in the deep woods in which they effortlessly blend

I’ve got ten fingers, ten toes
what life what be like without them, how could I know?
I’ve got a passive disease
I could enjoy the forest, if not for the trees.
one makes two, and two makes four
and so and so and so for a hundred million more.
And the cats are alright by me
Say what you will but everybody’s got to eat.

Leave a Reply

